Air light NOT coming on

Discussion about my Wifi Radio project at http://mightyohm.com/wifiradio/ or my WL-520gU talk at NOTACON.
Macgos
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 11:55 am

Air light NOT coming on

Post by Macgos »

Hi,
First - thanks for providing a great site. I am all very new to this, but I am learning a lot by reading your tutorials. I am trying to make tinkernuts version of the Wifi radio - as this is a big enough learning curve for me. I realise this forum isn't specifically for his version, but as his forum is read only, and as the problems I am having are with the Asus WL-520GU, I am hoping some of you guys may be able to help me. :?

I have followed along to the youtube clip right up until the point where I enter this command : /etc/init.d/network restart
After this - nothing happens. The air light doesn't light up - which I presume would indicate is that its not connected to my wireless network.
I have tried many different versions of router, network IP address - but nothing seems to work. I am NOT even sure if I am using the correct router or network addresses. In a similar post on these forums, a suggestion was made to change to WEP encryption - which I have done. I have also run ifconfig and taken a look at the addresses there. Still no joy.

As I am a newbie with all of this, I bet it is a simple problem, so i am kinda hoping someone may be able to help.

Here are my settings - note I have blanked out my password for my wireless network:

Code: Select all

KAMIKAZE (bleeding edge, r12857) -------------------
  * 10 oz Vodka       Shake well with ice and strain
  * 10 oz Triple sec  mixture into 10 shot glasses.
  * 10 oz lime juice  Salute!
 ---------------------------------------------------
root@OpenWrt:~# vi /etc/config/wireless
config wifi-device  wl0
        option type     broadcom
        option channel  5

        # REMOVE THIS LINE TO ENABLE WIFI:
        # option disabled 1

config wifi-iface
        option device   wl0
        option network  lan
        option mode     sta
        option ssid     Goston Wireless
        option encryption wep
        option key      xxxxxxxxxx
~
~
~
~
~
~
~
~
~
root@OpenWrt:~# vi /etc/config/network
#### VLAN configuration
config switch eth0
        option vlan0    "1 2 3 4 5*"
        option vlan1    "0 5"


#### Loopback configuration
config interface loopback
        option ifname   "lo"
        option proto    static
        option ipaddr   127.0.0.1
        option netmask  255.0.0.0


#### LAN configuration
config interface lan
        option type     bridge
        option ifname   "eth0.0"
        option proto    static
        option ipaddr   192.168.69.10
        option netmask  255.255.255.0
        option gateway  192.168.1.254
        option dns      8.8.8.8
root@OpenWrt:~# /etc/init.d/network restart
It is these bits here:

Code: Select all

        option ipaddr   192.168.69.10
        option netmask  255.255.255.0
        option gateway  192.168.1.254
that I wonder if I am doing wrong????

Also, here is my ifconfig when I plug into the Asus router and open putty then ssh.

Code: Select all

root@OpenWrt:~# ifconfig
br-lan    Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:22:15:7F:9F:B8
          inet addr:192.168.1.1  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:157 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:93 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:15423 (15.0 KiB)  TX bytes:9615 (9.3 KiB)
How do I find my unique network IP address - as tinkernut mentions to place in the option ipaddr ? What I have there now is my best guess looking at my Thompson router. When I enter 192.168.1.254 into my browser, i am taken to the Thompson TG585v7 page that opens my Thompson router - ....if this helps anyone. Is the 192.168.1.254 what I enter anywhere? Cos I have also tried this too...not working :?

Ok, so lots of info in this post. Any thoughts?

Thanks again for considering to help me here. This is a very exciting project - because it is pushing me well outside my comfort zone re computer stuff and I am learning a lot....

Mark
New Zealand
Macgos
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 11:55 am

Re: Air light NOT coming on

Post by Macgos »

Found another post with similar issues - and tried these settings instead - might be getting closer ?

Code: Select all

root@OpenWrt:~# vi /etc/config/wireless
config wifi-device  wl0
        option type     broadcom
        option channel  5

        # REMOVE THIS LINE TO ENABLE WIFI:
        option disabled 1

config wifi-iface
        option device   wl0
        option network  wan
        option mode     sta
        option ssid     Goston Wireless
        option encryption wep
        option key      xxxxxxxxx
~
~
~
~
~
~
~
~
~
root@OpenWrt:~# vi /etc/config/network
#### VLAN configuration
config switch eth0
        option vlan0    "1 2 3 4 5*"
        option vlan1    "0 5"


#### Loopback configuration
config interface loopback
        option ifname   "lo"
        option proto    static
        option ipaddr   127.0.0.1
        option netmask  255.0.0.0


#### LAN configuration
config interface lan
        #option type    bridge
        option ifname   "eth0.0"
        option proto    static
        option ipaddr   192.168.1.1
        option netmask  255.255.255.0


root@OpenWrt:~# /etc/init.d/network restart
udhcpc (v1.11.2) started
'wl0' is disabled
/sbin/uci: Parse error (too many arguments) at line 12, byte 32
/sbin/uci: Parse error (too many arguments) at line 12, byte 32
'wl0' is disabled
/sbin/uci: Parse error (too many arguments) at line 12, byte 32
/sbin/uci: Parse error (too many arguments) at line 12, byte 32
root@OpenWrt:~# Sending discover...
Sending discover...
Sending discover...
I am getting closer, as now it says ...sending discover, sending discover....etc....but still no air light....... any thoughts what to do now?
User avatar
mightyohm
Site Admin
Posts: 1064
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 10:29 pm
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Re: Air light NOT coming on

Post by mightyohm »

You need quotes around your SSID because it has a space in it.

Also, make sure the channel number and WEP password is correct. You need to have the details of your wireless network entered correctly or it won't connect.

Sometimes it helps if you can alter your wireless network settings to make it "easier" to connect to, temporarily, for troubleshooting. That would be: a known channel number, such as channel 5, a simple SSID with no spaces like "TESTING", and no encryption.
Macgos
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 11:55 am

Re: Air light NOT coming on

Post by Macgos »

Hey Jeff - thanks very much. Here is the update on my settings:

Code: Select all

login as: root
root@192.168.1.1's password:


BusyBox v1.11.2 (2008-12-01 16:57:55 PST) built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

  _______                     ________        __
 |       |.-----.-----.-----.|  |  |  |.----.|  |_
 |   -   ||  _  |  -__|     ||  |  |  ||   _||   _|
 |_______||   __|_____|__|__||________||__|  |____|
          |__| W I R E L E S S   F R E E D O M
 KAMIKAZE (bleeding edge, r12857) -------------------
  * 10 oz Vodka       Shake well with ice and strain
  * 10 oz Triple sec  mixture into 10 shot glasses.
  * 10 oz lime juice  Salute!
 ---------------------------------------------------
root@OpenWrt:~# vi /etc/config/wireless
config wifi-device  wl0
        option type     broadcom
        option channel  1

        # REMOVE THIS LINE TO ENABLE WIFI:
        # option disabled 1

config wifi-iface
        option device   wl0
        option network  wan
        option mode     sta
        option ssid     "Goston Wireless"
        option encryption wep
        option key      xxxxxxxxxxx
~
~
~
~
~
~
~
~
~
root@OpenWrt:~# vi /etc/config/network
#### VLAN configuration
config switch eth0
        option vlan0    "1 2 3 4 5*"
        option vlan1    "0 5"


#### Loopback configuration
config interface loopback
        option ifname   "lo"
        option proto    static
        option ipaddr   127.0.0.1
        option netmask  255.0.0.0


#### LAN configuration
config interface lan
        #option type    bridge
        option ifname   "eth0.0"
        option proto    static
        option ipaddr   192.168.1.1
        option netmask  255.255.255.0


root@OpenWrt:~# /etc/init.d/network restart
udhcpc (v1.11.2) started
Sending discover...
udhcpc (v1.11.2) started
root@OpenWrt:~# Sending discover...
Sending select for 192.168.1.66...
Lease of 192.168.1.66 obtained, lease time 86400
adding router 192.168.1.254
deleting old routes
adding dns 192.168.1.254
Sending discover...
Sending discover...
Good news - it must now be connecting as the green AIR light is on. thanks. ;)

However, when I remove the Ethernet cable, then open putty (after activating my laptops wireless again....when I type in 192.168.1.1 (or even 192.168.1.66) to continue with the hack, nothing happens - putty just says...cant connect. I am supposed to enter the IP address for my network (according to tinkernuts instructions) - but as the suggested network config code - here on this forum, left this out - I'm not sure what to enter to continue.

Any thoughts? :)
User avatar
mightyohm
Site Admin
Posts: 1064
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 10:29 pm
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Re: Air light NOT coming on

Post by mightyohm »

With the ethernet cable connected, type "ifconfig wl0" and see what IP address the router is using on your wireless network.
Macgos
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 11:55 am

Re: Air light NOT coming on

Post by Macgos »

Thanks Jeff here are the results:

Code: Select all

root@OpenWrt:~# ifconfig wl0
wl0       Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:22:15:7F:9F:B8
          inet addr:192.168.1.66  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:1638 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:30894
          TX packets:402 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:113138 (110.4 KiB)  TX bytes:21930 (21.4 KiB)
          Interrupt:2 Base address:0x5000
I get a Network error: Connection refused when I try to use either 192.168.1.66 or 192.168.1.255 in putty with ssh selected....
I do see the air light flickering when i use the 192.168.1.66 though...then Network error message...

This is the information my main Thompson router is picking up for the Asus:


Status: Active
Type: Generic Device
Connected To: WLAN (Wireless)
Allowed on WLAN: Yes

Addressing

Physical Address: 00:22:15:7f:9f:b8
IP Address Assignment: DHCP
IP Address: 192.168.1.66
Always use the same address: Yes
DHCP Lease Time: 49 days, 16:58:35
User avatar
mightyohm
Site Admin
Posts: 1064
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 10:29 pm
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Re: Air light NOT coming on

Post by mightyohm »

You need to configure /etc/config/firewall to allow ssh connections over the wireless interface. There's an example posted as a sticky in this forum.
Macgos
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 11:55 am

Re: Air light NOT coming on

Post by Macgos »

ok - I have done that now...

Code: Select all

		  root@OpenWrt:~# vi /etc/config/firewall
config defaults
        option syn_flood        1
        option input            ACCEPT
        option output           ACCEPT
        option forward          REJECT

config zone
        option name             lan
        option input    ACCEPT
        option output   ACCEPT
        option forward  REJECT

config zone
        option name             wan
        option input    ACCEPT
        option output   ACCEPT
        option forward  REJECT
        option masq             1

config forwarding
        option src      lan
        option dest     wan
Still no access. Does the IP 192.168.1.66 the right one to be using with putty and ssh? I presume all the lines with # don't need to be entered?? Also, do I need to add Option dns 8.8.8.8 in the WAN or the option gateway line? I presume not - as you have not included them.... ;) Should the putty port number be the default 22 ?

Should I disable the wep security on my main Thompson router and see if that helps? I am just worried that anyone could then access my internet connection... :?
Macgos
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 11:55 am

Re: Air light NOT coming on

Post by Macgos »

oh oh ...just noticed that my apple TV is using the same Ip addy 192.168.1.66.... :o

How do i force a different Ip on the Asus??....this has got to be the problem eh??
Macgos
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 11:55 am

Re: Air light NOT coming on

Post by Macgos »

Ok tried this code

Code: Select all

#### VLAN configuration
config switch eth0
        option vlan0    "1 2 3 4 5*"
        option vlan1    "0 5"


#### Loopback configuration
config interface loopback
        option ifname   "lo"
        option proto    static
        option ipaddr   127.0.0.1
        option netmask  255.0.0.0


#### LAN configuration
config interface lan
        #option type    bridge
        option ifname   "eth0.0"
        option proto    static
        option ipaddr   192.168.1.75
        option netmask  255.255.255.0
        option gateway  192.168.1.1
        option dns      8.8.8.8

now it seems like I can access it via wireless ssh....cool......do you see any problems here Jeff?

Specifically this bit:

Code: Select all

        option ipaddr   192.168.1.75
        option netmask  255.255.255.0
        option gateway  192.168.1.1
        option dns      8.8.8.8
Post Reply