no airlight can not connect to network

Discussion about my Wifi Radio project at http://mightyohm.com/wifiradio/ or my WL-520gU talk at NOTACON.
Post Reply
will.brett
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2011 4:57 am

no airlight can not connect to network

Post by will.brett »

I have seen that someone has already posted a thread about this but I have tried to fix mine using the help there but no change.

I have installed openwrt without issue...i then went through and tried to make sure all my settings were correct following the guide.

but when i try and restart the network the air light doesnt come on and it posts the message sending discover a few times.

i tested the ping just to make sure and it doesnt work.

please help...i would be very greatful ( i am a complete novice to this )

here are my settings:

root@OpenWrt:/# vi /etc/config/wireless

- /etc/config/wireless [Modified] 10/14 71%
"/etc/config/wireless" 14L, 359C
config wifi-device wl0
option type broadcom
option channel 5 # the channel your wireless is on


config wifi-iface
option device wl0
option network wan
option mode sta # configures the router to connect to your network
option ssid virginmedia4379414
option encryption wpa # the encryption mode of your network
option key xxxxxxxx (blocked out)

i noticed that my network uses wpa rather than wep could this be the problem? my network is also using channel 5.

The ssid and password are correct


if you need any more information dont hesitate to ask..

Thank you kindly

Will Brett


~

will.brett
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2011 4:57 am

Re: no airlight can not connect to network

Post by will.brett »

Problem solved.

The issue was the wpa (probably used the wrong code/name here)

I switched my network over to wep instead and now the router works perfectly

User avatar
mightyohm
Site Admin
Posts: 1016
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 10:29 pm
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Re: no airlight can not connect to network

Post by mightyohm »

I have had success getting WPA2 to work, but I have never figured out how to get WPA going. Without the time to investigate further, I have given up and only use the router with WEP or WPA2-AES. :D

User avatar
Jeff_
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2011 1:01 pm

Re: no airlight can not connect to network

Post by Jeff_ »

i totally can't get it working on encrypted network, i normally use wpa2-psk with aes and my ssid has a''-'' in it.
the only possible way to connect it is changing it to uncrypted
[URL=http://www.speedtest.net][IMG]http://www.speedtest.net/result/1322220679.png[/IMG][/URL]

User avatar
mightyohm
Site Admin
Posts: 1016
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 10:29 pm
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Re: no airlight can not connect to network

Post by mightyohm »

I have definitely seen networks that were impossible to connect to (or that I gave up on after an hour of messing with).

Try changing the SSID to something simple, no special characters, and try WEP encryption first. See if you can get that working. Then try WPA2.

jeroen94704
Posts: 109
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2010 4:27 am
Location: Eindhoven, the Netherlands

Re: no airlight can not connect to network

Post by jeroen94704 »

I use WPA2-PSK with AES, and have no problem connecting. That's with OpenWRT Backfire (10.03) though.

Post Reply