MPD problem

Discussion about my Wifi Radio project at http://mightyohm.com/wifiradio/ or my WL-520gU talk at NOTACON.
Post Reply
will.brett
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2011 4:57 am

MPD problem

Post by will.brett »

Hi everyone,

I have a slight problem when it comes to installing MPD

Following the instructions to the letter, I come across this issue that may be obvious but it has had me stumped.

When i need to edit the audio_output section of the mpd config file i get a different config to that described both in the tutorial and the openwrt wiki

this is what i get



_______ ________ __
| |.-----.-----.-----.| | | |.----.| |_
| - || _ | -__| || | | || _|| _|
|_______|| __|_____|__|__||________||__| |____|
|__| W I R E L E S S F R E E D O M
KAMIKAZE (bleeding edge, r12857) -------------------
* 10 oz Vodka Shake well with ice and strain
* 10 oz Triple sec mixture into 10 shot glasses.
* 10 oz lime juice Salute!
---------------------------------------------------
root@OpenWrt:/# vi /etc/mpd.conf

# An example configuration file for MPD
# See the mpd.conf man page for a more detailed description of each parameter.

######################## REQUIRED PATHS ########################
music_directory "~/music"
playlist_directory "~/.mpd/playlists"
db_file "~/.mpd/mpd.db"
log_file "~/.mpd/mpd.log"
error_file "~/.mpd/mpd.error"
################################################################


######################## OPTIONAL PATHS ########################
#
# If you wish to use mpd --kill to stop MPD, then you must
# specify a file here in which to store MPD's process ID.
#
#pid_file "~/.mpd/mpd.pid"
#
# If specified, MPD will save its current state (playlist,
# current song, playing/paused, etc.) at exit. This will be
# used to restore the session the next time it is run.
#
- /etc/mpd.conf 1/276 0%



I do not get the audio_output {

so i can not change it :(

I tried just typing it in but didnt seem to work.

any help would be a life saver (slight exaggeration) but would be very much appreciated.

User avatar
mightyohm
Site Admin
Posts: 1016
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 10:29 pm
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Re: MPD problem

Post by mightyohm »

Can you try posting the entire mpd.conf file?

Have you tried removing and reinstalling mpd on the router?

will.brett
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2011 4:57 am

Re: MPD problem

Post by will.brett »

That was the whole mpd config file.

And yeas iv tried reinstalling twice now. Iv followed the instructions the best i can so im not sure what ive done wrong

User avatar
gerben
Posts: 164
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2010 8:41 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: MPD problem

Post by gerben »

You just need to scroll further down.
- /etc/mpd.conf 1/276 0%

This means you are on line 1 of the 276. So your file has 276 lines, not just the 23 you posted. Mine also has 276 lines, so that seems to be OK.

will.brett
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2011 4:57 am

Re: MPD problem

Post by will.brett »

gerben wrote:You just need to scroll further down.
- /etc/mpd.conf 1/276 0%

This means you are on line 1 of the 276. So your file has 276 lines, not just the 23 you posted. Mine also has 276 lines, so that seems to be OK.
If that is the case how do i see the rest? because it doesnt post....after the stuff i copied and pasted its just blank.

will.brett
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2011 4:57 am

Re: MPD problem

Post by will.brett »

Im going to attempt to remedy this issue tonight. I'm sure i have just done something blatantly stupid but i really am stumped. I load the MPD config and wait around ten minutes and all that appears as what i posted at the beginning of this thread. I am i meant to type anything in to get to the audio_output?

You say i need to scroll down further, but when i do this using the mouse wheel it just shows blank nothingness.

Thanks

will brett

User avatar
gerben
Posts: 164
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2010 8:41 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: MPD problem

Post by gerben »

Scrollwheel doesn't work in telnet. Just keep pressing the down key till you are at the bottom of the screen. If you continue pressing it more lines will appear.

A very short version of how 'vi' works: viewtopic.php?f=2&t=394&p=1957#p1957

will.brett
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2011 4:57 am

Re: MPD problem

Post by will.brett »

Thank you for your help i new it would have been something obvious and that i was just being stupid.

will.brett
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2011 4:57 am

Re: MPD problem

Post by will.brett »

problem solved.

Thanks of the help

janur55
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2011 4:22 pm

Re: MPD problem

Post by janur55 »

hey \...i am new in here
i want to build wifi radio inernet...should i build my own server..or i can use another server which built by anyone?..maybe like directly acsess shoutcast.com

Post Reply