Wifi streaming local, live audio to powered speakers.

Discussion about my Wifi Radio project at http://mightyohm.com/wifiradio/ or my WL-520gU talk at NOTACON.
phoenix710

Wifi streaming local, live audio to powered speakers.

Post by phoenix710 »

All: I have been researching wireless audio streaming for several months now. While I'm comfortable with designing and building new HW around wireless chipsets (such as the Nordic nRF2460), the WL-520GU approach definitely has the edge in simplicity and cost!

The reason for this post, however, is to ask about the feasibility of using this project for a different task.

Rather than using this project to listen to internet radio, I want to use it for the sound system in our church (for the main speakers, as well as for floor monitors). This means that our multichannel mixer would source the audio, then a sound card/sound cards would do the ADC, then a Linux system would do the realtime MP3 encoding and be the live stream server, drive a local wifi hotspot, which would then send it to WL-520GUs located in (powered/amp'd) speakers. I envision the need for two parallel systems: one would be dedicated to the stream to main speakers, and the other to stream to the floor monitors. (These must be different streams, since the mix for the mains and the mix for the floor monitors will be different in most cases.)

So, here are my questions:

1. What are the recommendations for the realtime MP3 encoder and server? From recent reading, I think that I need something like shoutcast or icecast as the server, but my knowledge of what I can do on Linux is very limited. (I've used Ubuntu for about 2 1/2 years, but I'm definitely not a Linux guru. I do know how to use apt-get to install, and have sometimes built apps on the box if needed.)

2. We need independent volume control on each stream. Do I get this for free via the ADC, or do I need something at the WL-520GU receiving end as well?