I can not change the fuses

Topics related to the HV Rescue Shield:
http://mightyohm.com/hvrescue2
brunortt
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2015 4:03 am

I can not change the fuses

Postby brunortt » Mon Aug 10, 2015 11:07 pm

Hi,
I try to change the fuses No change

Image

Do I have to feed the HV Rescue Shield 2. with 12V?

Any suggestions?


Thanks.

User avatar
mightyohm
Site Admin
Posts: 1002
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 10:29 pm
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Re: I can not change the fuses

Postby mightyohm » Sat Aug 15, 2015 12:59 pm

Hi brunortt,

Sorry for the delay in my reply.

The rescue shield contains its own 12V supply so you do not need to provide one.

Can you tell me more about what chip you are trying to use with the shield? Was the chip working normally before? What version of the Arduino sketch are you using, and what version of Arduino?

Make sure the chip is inserted with pin 1 in the correct location as it seems like the chip is not responding.

brunortt
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2015 4:03 am

Re: I can not change the fuses

Postby brunortt » Sun Aug 16, 2015 1:02 am

Hi mightyohm,

Thanks for answering

Can you tell me more about what chip you are trying to use with the shield?

The chip on the ATMEGA328P

Was the chip working normally before?

The chip worked fine, and when I try to load a program no longer responds

What version of the Arduino sketch are you using, and what version of Arduino?

Arduino version is 1.6.5 and I tried both version of the sketch Arduino Uno as Arduino Mega, with the same result as seen in the image above

Make sure the chip is inserted with pin 1 in the correct location as it seems like the chip is not responding

Image

Thanks

User avatar
mightyohm
Site Admin
Posts: 1002
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 10:29 pm
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Re: I can not change the fuses

Postby mightyohm » Sun Aug 16, 2015 11:07 am

I see that you are using an Arduino MEGA. Did you set #define MEGA 1 in the Arduino sketch?

http://mightyohm.com/blog/2011/03/hv-re ... uino-mega/

brunortt
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2015 4:03 am

Re: I can not change the fuses

Postby brunortt » Sun Aug 16, 2015 1:00 pm

Hi mightyohm,

Set the MEGA #define to 1 and compile/upload the sketch to your board

But as usual

Image


Thanks

User avatar
mightyohm
Site Admin
Posts: 1002
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 10:29 pm
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Re: I can not change the fuses

Postby mightyohm » Sun Aug 16, 2015 1:55 pm

After changing MEGA to 1, did you remove the ATMEGA328 from the rescue shield before clicking the "Upload" button in the Arduino IDE?

It seems like maybe the change in code did not get compiled and uploaded to the board. The behavior you are seeing (fuses = 3) can happen if the code running on the Arduino is not compiled for the Mega.

Other things to try -Check all of your solder joints. Try the shield with an Arduino Uno if you have one around - most of my testing has been done with the Uno. Make sure the ATMEGA328 is not plugged into the socket when you upload the sketch or open the serial monitor. Try a spare ATMEGA328 if you have one to make sure the chip isn't bad.

I just verified that the shield works with the latest Arduino IDE (1.6.5) and both the Uno and a Mega 2560. Everything seems to be working fine here.

brunortt
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2015 4:03 am

Re: I can not change the fuses

Postby brunortt » Sun Aug 16, 2015 11:16 pm

Hi mightyohm,

I tried it with a new chip (ATMEGA328P), and I changed the fuses seamlessly
So the compilation and communication with arduino is correct for the mega
Image

But that I can do with a programmer (USBtiny)
Image

I think the HV Shield Rescue 2 is not working on high voltage (HVPP)

Thanks

User avatar
mightyohm
Site Admin
Posts: 1002
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 10:29 pm
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Re: I can not change the fuses

Postby mightyohm » Sun Aug 16, 2015 11:34 pm

The rescue shield uses a completely different protocol from avrdude so if it works on one part, the 12V HVPP must be working. Most likely the first chip you tried is damaged somehow.